Academic Faculty

Subrata Dasgupta

ICS Director
Eminent Scholar Endowed Chair in Computer Science and Professor of History

Cognitive aspects of creativity in science, art, and technology, cognitive history of the creative tradition, historical foundation of cognitive science.
subrata@louisiana.edu

Istvan S. N. Berkeley

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Neural network analysis, foundations of cognitive science.
istvan@louisiana.edu

Claude G. Čech

Professor of Psychology
Memory and cognition, discourse processes, mental comparisons.
cech@louisiana.edu

Michele I. Feist

Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
Lexical semantics, spatial language.
feist@louisiana.edu

Mike Kalish

Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
Category learning, Connectionist modeling.
kalish@louisiana.edu

Cheryl S. Lynch

Associate Professor of Psychology
Psychoneuroendocrinology, cognition.
csm5689@louisiana.edu

Anthony S. Maida

Associate Professor of Computer Science
Neurocomputation and computational neuroscience.
maida@cacs.louisiana.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Shalini Arehole

Associate Professor and Hawthorne BORSF Distinguished Professor of Communicative Disorders
Central auditory processing, evoked potentials.
sxa3201@louisiana.edu

Robert Bothwell

Associate Professor of Psychology
Social cognition, social perception, attribution in legal contexts.
rkb8517@louisiana.edu

Jack Damico

Doris Hawthorne Eminent Scholar of Communicative Disorders
Qualitative research, aphasia and discourse, clinical linguistics, neuro-pathologies, language disorders.
jsd6498@louisiana.edu

William R. Edwards

Associate Professor of Computer Science
Information, computation theory and cognition, software.
wre@cacs.louisiana.edu

M. Babette Fontenot

Head of Behavioral Sciences Division, New Iberia Research Center
Physiological and cognitive ethology, endocrinology, behavioral pathophysiology.
mbb4143@louisiana.edu

David Greenway

Assistant Professor of Psychology
Stimulus equivalence, basic verbal processes.
deg8396@louisiana.edu

Rasiah Loganantharaj

Associate Professor of Computer Science
Knowledge representation and reasoning.
logan@cacs.louisiana.edu

Valanne MacGyvers

Assistant Professor of Psychology
Developmental social cognition, achievement motivation, ADHD, theory of mind.
vxm2873@louisiana.edu

Robert McFatter

Professor of Psychology
Quantitative psychology, individual differences in emotion and cognition.
mcfatter@louisiana.edu

John Oller

Hawthorne Regents Professor of Communicative Disorders
Semiotic theory, language proficiency measurement, language acquisition.
joller@louisiana.edu

Daniel Povinelli

Professor, Cognitive Evolution Group and Director, Center for Child Studies
Evolution and development of cognition.
ceg@louisiana.edu

Claiborne Rice

Assistant Professor of English
Cognitive poetics, cognitive linguistics, English linguistics.
crice@louisiana.edu

Glenn Watson

Associate Professor of Biology
Sensory processing in primitive animals, comparative sensory physiology, molecular mechanisms of repair for hair bundle mechanoreceptors.
gmw5722@louisiana.edu

Graduate Students

Kyle Albarado

Role of attention in discourse and learning and statistical methods in experimental psychology.
kea6774@louisiana.edu

Kory Akers

akers@louisiana.edu

Charles Barousse

Music cognition, perception, and cognitive neuroscience in music.
charles@louisiana.edu

Brooke Breaux

Language, psycholinguistics, language acquisition
brookebreaux@yahoo.com

Marlene Burke

meb2009@louisiana.edu

Sally Donlon

Evolution of language, Knowledge aquisition, pragmatics.
sod@louisiana.edu

Sarah DuBose

Comparative cognition of human and nonhuman primates, learning and memory of nonhuman primates.
sed9352@louisiana.edu

Carley Faughn

Evolution and development of cognition for human and nonhuman primates.
carley.faughn@yahoo.com

Steven Feist

Learning, cognitively motivated educational software design.
sfeist@louisiana.edu

Kelly Gros

klg4911@louisiana.edu

Derek James

Artificial neural networks, evolution of cognition.
djames@gmail.com

Valerie Kline

valakline@gmail.com

Elizabeth Lawrence

eal0403@louisiana.edu

Jack McCaffery

Unsupervised learning and computational neuroscience.
jpm1486@louisiana.edu

Shaun Pilkington

shaunpilk@gmail.com

Christopher Pope

Emotion, embodied cognition, computer neural modeling, somatic markers.
cdp9060@louisiana.edu

Laurie Robinette

Human memory and language.
ler6578@louisiana.edu

B. Meghna Uthaiya

Emotion and perception.
meghna129@yahoo.com

Amber Wright

Evolution of behavior in humans and non-human primates.
aew3482@louisiana.edu

Kevin Yaudes

kyaudes@msm.com